A Cat’s New Year’s Resolutions

A Cat's New Year“Happy New Year!”

“Thanks, but what’s that ringing?”

“You’re supposed to ring in the New Year and cheer!”

“I don’t know where you get your ideas.”

“From blogs!”

“I might have guessed.”

“Do you have any New Year resolutions?”

“Yes, as a point of fact, I do, to wit, but one.”

“And?”

“To increase both the frequency and severity of naps.”

“Ah, that’s the same as you had last year. Want to hear mine for 2014?”

“No.”

“This year, I’m going to avoid the near occasion of sin, cut out candy, shorten my tweets to be more clear and concise, listen more attentively, love. I want to love more. I want to bring back the Summer of Love, 1967! I want to live in harmony with the birds and squirrels, raccoons and possums, slugs and toads, bees and wasps, all that is electric and all that is acoustic. I’m going to give more and take less. I’m going to give kisses away, free, on every street corner I round. I’m going to sing more. Joe said it’s never too late to start singing. I’m going to learn to play a musical instrument, something with strings. I want to play soft and mellow and moist. I want to draw a bow across a string that creates a whine like a train. I’m going to watch more movies, Doris Day and Danny Kaye. I’m going to walk more, go for mysterious walks, step out, step it up, wander at will through this urban landscape we call home.”

“The odds weigh heavily against any of it.”

“If life is a gamble, I’m all in.”

“And I fold.”

Related Post: A Cat’s New Year’s Celebration

16 Comments Add yours

  1. bristlehound says:

    I hope that puss is able to achieve the goals it set out for 2014, I really do. However to incorporate possums ( very large squirrels ) on the New Year Resolution love -more list is taking it a bit far. Puss sounds quite elderly, much in the line of Peter Sellars hearing the doorbell ring and calling to his elderly stage wife “Minn” – “there’s someone at the door Minn”. I dare say the list of resolutions has been tempered relative to the declining abilities of the cat in question.
    As for playing instruments, this does seem a bit fanciful. I have seen various instruments played by animals namely the drums, but cello and harp would be out of the question.
    With all of these reservations aside I do wish puss a fine 2014 and long may he/she blogg.

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Puss in Boots, both, the one wizened, but sidewise, the other “jung and unafreud.” But with these cats, anything is possible.

      Like

  2. Dan Hennessy says:

    Wonderful resolutions . I think it will all happen .

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Ah! Well, yr off to a good start hiking w Ada!

      Like

  3. Geannie Newell says:

    It inspires me to write a few resolutions myself.

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Oh! Best wishes for the new year, Geannie!

      Like

  4. bristlehound says:

    After viewing subsequent resolutions of said puss(s), clearly the resolutions beyond are not.

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Begin the Beguine! – the first step to beyond.

      Like

  5. Yes, inspiring stuff, and … I’m going to give kisses away, free, on every street corner I round … will be a marvellous gamble.
    Happy 1967 🙂

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      A gamboling ramble gamble! Happy 1967 you, too. Have you ever seen a cat in paisley bellbottom pantaloons?

      Like

  6. Sounds like a plan. Go for it!

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Thanks for the encouraging comment, Jane, but the spotted cat with the high tail is now bouncing off the walls!

      Like

      1. Aw go on! He/she is just having fun!

        Like

  7. philipparees says:

    Why is the cello impossible? Deep and moist? I started at 45, and perhaps this year is the year to begin again but without hoping to sound like Casals!

    Like

    1. Joe Linker says:

      Nothing is impossible! I love the cello, but have never had a chance to play one. A book you might enjoy: “Piano Lessons,” by Noah Adams, who, an NPR correspondent, at the age of 50 took up piano lessons. His book is 12 chapters, each corresponding to a month in that year of piano lessons, culminating in – but I don’t want to spoil the ending. As for Casals, I get that. I took a few years of classical guitar, private lessons, some time ago, never mind exactly how long ago, anyway, I remember my teacher, a Sufi thinker, saying something like, you can play beautifully right now. He meant, in part, even if simply, simple pieces. But you must listen to what you are playing. But the beauty found in the complex pieces is also found in the so-called simple pieces. Alas, I left classical for jazz (having started out at a young impressionable tender age with folk and blues). Jazz always seemed more forgiving than classical, but as it turns out, if you find yourself playing with some unforgiving perfectionist in any genre, it’s time to move on. The Leo Brouwer “Etudes Simples” still I have in my hands. Here’s a guy doing a good job with them. Anyway, an idea for any instrument: leave it out! Don’t ever put it away in its case. Leave it out in the room that you spend the most time in, and simply pick it up frequently and spend some time with it. Even 5 minutes a day is better than 20 or 30 minutes once a week. In the end, I prefer guitar for its folk capabilities. Cheers and happy cello playing!

      Like

      1. philipparees says:

        Yes all accepted as true! Eight minutes power exercise ten minutes cello. THanks for everything, specially recommended reading and listening, but more for bothering. Rare. And appreciated

        Like

Leave a Note.

