“…light out for the territory…” at berfrois!

“…and so there ain’t nothing more to write about, and I am rotten glad of it, because if I’d ‘a’ knowed what a trouble it was to make a book I wouldn’t ‘a’ tackled it, and ain’t a-going to no more. But I reckon I got to light out for the territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she’s going to adopt me and sivilize me, and I can’t stand it. I been there before” (Huckleberry Finn, last sentences).

Check out the Toads post at berfrois: “…what happens to Huck when he winds up in a research paper writing class? Tom skates through while Huck suffers the fantods.”

3 Comments Add yours

  1. dan hennessy says:

    A writing teacher teaching a class these days might simply want to get the Huck out of there . Maybe s/he should , so that Huck can float on his own . But that seems to go against the goals of teaching . You pointed out the dilemma brilliantly .

    Like

  2. Ha, Dan, spot on. Long ago, in primary school in Bavaria we had a supply teacher for math who stayed on for several months. Before he started the lesson he would read to us for ten minutes. After that he had our full attention. That’s how I came to love Huck and Tom.

    Like

Leave a Note.

